• September 17, 2017


16th September 2017



Section 1

Wodonga Larrikins 3/44 (Piergrosse, Oates, Price, Wilson) defeated Thurgoona Jade 3/33 (Rooke, Simpfendorfer, Baldwin, Davis)


Best Player Award

Winner: Jeanne Piergrosse; Runner up: Wendy Wolter


Section 2

Uiver Park 3/37 (Guy, R. Jones, Huckstepp, Ereg) defeated Glenly 3/31 (Hodges, Carlin, C. Jones, Brawn)


Best Player

Winner: Jenny Guy; Runner up: Robyn Jones



Section 1

St Patricks/Diggerville 4/41 (M. Shanahan, Ahern, Parnell) defeated Wodonga 2/31(Meagher, Hawkins, McLean)


Best Player

Winner: Matthew Paull; Runner up: Travis Leenaerts


Section 2

Wodonga Bushrangers 4/38 (Rutledge, Neill, Robertson, Ebert) defeated Forest Hill Diggers 2/35 (G. Graetz, R. Graetz, L Graetz, C. Wood)


Best Player

Winners: Steve O’Connell and John McVean; Runner up: Greg White


Section 3

Wodonga Pirates 5/46 (Farrar, Gadd, Morrison, Rokahr) defeated Glenly 1/34 (Ebery, Jim Hines, Cannon, Hubanic)

Best Player

Winner: Chris Rokahr; Runner up: John Seidel


Section 4

Forest Hill Swans 5/33 (Murphy, Lieschke, Foard) defeated Wodonga Eagles 1/19 (Brewer, Edwards, Plested)


Best Player

Winner: Zac Reid; Runner up: Ryan Lowe


Section 5

St Patricks/Diggerville Green 5/34 (Briese, Jhonston, Filiponi) defeated Wodonga Aces 1/9 (Anderson, Quinlan, Plested)

Best Player

Winner: Ashley Moore; Runner up: Keeley Moore


Cool, windy conditions and close matches were the order of the day in the finale of Albury Tennis Association’s winter pennant at the weekend.

Two dominant sets mid afternoon by Jeanne Piergrosse, Emily Price, Kendall Oates and Rhonda Wilson proved the difference, setting up Wodonga Larrkins’ triumph against Thurgoona Jade in Section 1 ladies. With sets locked at 3 each, Larrikins finished 11 games to the good with Jackie Rooke and Jo Simpfendorfer best for Jade.  In the men, St Patricks/Diggerville rattled away with the final 3 rubbers and the premiership in a good battle against Wodonga.  Mark Shanahan, Lewis Ahern and Rory Parnell all contributed for the winners while Terry McLean claimed 2 sets for Wodonga.

Glenly Gold started slowly and didn’t recover the early deficit, going down by 6 games to Uiver Park in their Section 2 encounter. Jenny Guy was in good touch all afternoon with support from Robyn Jones, Brenda Huckstepp and Margit Ereg. Leonie Hodges, Sue Carlin, Chris Jones and Maggie Brawn fought hard for Glenly.

A three set haul from Wodonga Bushrangers’ Mark Neill assisted his team to a 4 sets to 2 salute over Forest Hill Diggers. Mike Rutledge, Brett Robertson and Sam Ebert also performed well with Chris Wood the standout for Diggers.

In Section 3, Wodonga Pirates claimed 3 tie break wins in its defeat of Glenly. Craig Farrar, Leigh Gadd, Jack Morrison and Chris Rokahr had the answers when it counted.  Darryl Ebery and Jim Cannon claimed one set for Glenly with Jim Hines and Geoff Hubanic putting up an excellent fight.  Forest Hill Swans claimed a 5 sets to 1 victory over Wodonga Eagles in the Section 4 decider.  Taj Murphy, Ky Lieschke and Lenny Foard played solid tennis all afternoon with Frank Brewer best for Eagles.  SPD Green, with Harry Briese, Ryan Jhonston and Reece Filiponi all firing easily accounted for Wodonga Aces in Section 5.



  • Mick Glabbatz
    September 17, 2017 (8:36 pm)

    I would like to congratulate those teams that made the grand finals . winners are grinners so congratulations to all winners . See you all in summer .

Got something to say?

Some html is OK

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.